Green Pesto With A Spinach Base

Processed with VSCO with c8 presetPesto in one of my favourite pasta dishes and usually I buy the pesto sauce from a superstore, but then I thought back to last year when I was living in Italy and how amazing fresh homemade pesto was.  So, I decided to make pesto myself and now I will never buy pesto again.

I’ve been making classic pesto for a few weeks now so I decided to try something a little different with it this time and add spinach to the recipe.  Usually, I add spinach to the pasta and then the pesto, but this time I blended it into the pesto.

 

 

You will need:

  • 150ml of pure olive oil
  • A hand full of spinach
  • A hand full of fresh basil
  • 1 tablespoon of basil seasoning
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 100 grams of pine nuts/almond nuts
  • A little salt
  • A little pepper
  • Mixed Herbs
  • A blender
  1. Pour the olive oil into the blender followed by the spinach, basil,  basil seasoning and the nuts.
  2. Crush both of the cloves and put them into the blender too.
  3. Sprinkle some salt, pepper and mixed herbs over the contents in the blender.
  4. Blend to a crunchy or smooth consistency depending on how you like your pesto.  (I prefer mine to be smooth)
  5. Enjoy with past of your choice.  I would recommend fusilli.
Posted by

Chinese and International Relations Student, Avid Reader, Casual Comic Book Collector, Fashion and Beauty Fanatic, Food, Wine and Whisky Enthusiast, Freelance Photographer, Language Devotee, Polymath

Leave a comment!

